Sym-Spin Setup

Post here if you want to discuss a topic specific to the PDQ Altair.
kd5ddo
deckhand
deckhand

Sym-Spin Setup

Post by kd5ddo »

After a day of light wind sailing, I attempted to set up my spinnaker for the first time. It was met with varying levels of success as I have never worked with a sym spin before. (Some work with asym-spins on F-18 and other racing cats using a snuffer poles...)

Does anyone have photos of their setup that they can share?

I also noticed that the bottom of the spin had a plastic piece that I haven't seen before. It looked as if it is used to wrap around something to hold the tack in place, I used the furled jib. I ended up finding an image online. They call it the "Tacker" Im glad to know I was on the right track of using the jib.

Also, is it possible to gybe with a sym-spin? What about when using the tacker? With the spin going to the top of the mast and the forestay passing 'under' it, I don't see how I can gybe with it on.

Thoughts?
Please check out my travelog at http://20in20travels.com
doubledutch
admiral
admiral

Re: Sym-Spin Setup

Post by doubledutch »

I anchor my sym on a line that I run between the bow cleats. I leave enough slack to set the tack at about the level of the top of the gull striker. This lets me move the tack from side to side for the best draw depending on where the wind is coming from. It also lets the sail set out a bit further in front which can help if you have the main up.
Tacking unfortunately requires snuffing - I only have a single block and sheet so I try to avoid the need to tack.
Sorry - I don't have any photos to help.
Henry
Marc Gershel
admiral
admiral

Post by Marc Gershel »

Hi, I thought the Tacker was for use with a asymmetric spinnaker.
If it is a symmetrical, two lines are attached to each corner. One is the sheet, the other is the guy. The sheet is led all the way aft to a block, then to the winch.