Yanmar zincs

Post here issues with diesel engines on PDQ yachts
Bob
admiral
admiral

Yanmar zincs

Post by Bob »

Just pulled my new boat for a bottom job and zincs and found that the props are Volvo but the leg is Yanmar. Yanmar zincs had to have the lip ground off for prop clearance. This doesn't seem right. Were the Yanmars equiped with Volvo props originally? Is there another zinc made for this application and if so does anyone have a source or p/n?
Bob Johnson
Hull 36045
Peace
SecondWind
admiral
admiral

Zincs & Props

Post by SecondWind »

I've been using Yanmar zincs since 2001 when we bought Second Wind. No problems, no mods, 6 sets of zincs. I just recently bought a 15x11 Volvo prop as a spare, since I have one getting thin. I bought it from Bayshore Marine in Annapolis, 410-263-8370. They are the Annapolis Yanmar dealer and do a great job shipping us parts to Florida.
Terry Green
s/v Second Wind
Bob
admiral
admiral

Post by Bob »

This is very interesting. The PO also said that she did not have to modify them. I was there when they attempted to fit them and when the prop went on it bound. These are Yanmar dealer zincs so I wonder what is going on. Once the zincs were altered the props went on as they should. BTW I ordered zincs on line for ~$18 ea from http://www.boatzincs.com and it has CM19642002652 cast in the face. They look identical to originals. No intrest in the company but I know the Yanmars were considerably more. I now have 4 spares on the shelf.
Bob Johnson
Hull 36045
Peace
halfmoon
1st mate
1st mate

Zincs

Post by halfmoon »

Bob, I had the same problem at last servicing of my saildrives. Had to send the ? Yanmars back and order Volvos. Unfortunately, the yard where the work was done is now another condoville and I can't contact the mechanics who did the work. Are you saying that you now use the Yanmar zincs but have to grind them down to fit?
thanks, Alex Kehayes, 36073
Alex Kehayes
Edenton, NC
Bob
admiral
admiral

Post by Bob »