Topping lift "hum"

PDQ issues applicable across all PDQ Yachts (or if you can't find a place for something, it probably belongs here for now)
mikeandrebecca
admiral
admiral

Topping lift "hum"

Post by mikeandrebecca »

Hi all

Has anyone else experienced a hum (vibration) created by the topping lift at anchor or at the dock? I thought it might have been created by the shackle which attached the topping lift to the boom so today I removed the shackle and reattached the line with a bowline. Shortly after that the hum returned. It is intermittent and can be partially eliminated by easing the topping lift. I would like to know if this is just us or if anyone else has experienced this.

Mike
SecondWind
admiral
admiral

Re: Topping lift "hum"

Post by SecondWind »

All halyards hum if drawn tight.
Terry Green
s/v Second Wind
mikeandrebecca
admiral
admiral

Post by mikeandrebecca »

OK, please forgive me as I am new to the whole boating thing, ;) but the topping lift is kept tight when not sailing, right (unless we have cool boom gallows like in the other thread). Is there a solution? It is QUITE pronounced and annoying. Do you experience this too?
SecondWind
admiral
admiral

Post by SecondWind »

There is no solution unless you build a boom gallows and relieve the tension on the line, or use a solid boom-vang to hold the boom up. Think "violin string". Any vertical line drawn tight will hum (Halyards, lady jacks, etc.) and any too loose will clank against the mast. It is the music of a sailing vessel.
Terry Green
s/v Second Wind
thinwater
admiral
admiral

Post by thinwater »

I always disagree :lol: Seriously, this has a free fix.

I have never had a hum problem, but I think that is because I always create a triangle for the boom and don't keep the TL that tight.