Chesapeake Marina Haul Out/Store - PDQ 36

PDQ issues applicable across all PDQ Yachts (or if you can't find a place for something, it probably belongs here for now)
holomoku
skipper
skipper

Chesapeake Marina Haul Out/Store - PDQ 36

Post by holomoku »

Hi All,
I’m looking for recommendations on a marina for haul out and winter storage on the northern Chesapeake for my PDQ 36.
My current marina cannot haul a cat due to width.
I’d like to stay within reasonable driving distance so I can do some work on the boat while it is out.
I live north of Baltimore so something north of the bay bridge would be ideal.
Of course cost is always a consideration too.
I bought this boat back in February down in North Carolina and, after upgrading engines and batteries, sailed her up the intercoastal to the Bay in May.
I’m just starting to learn where things are around the Chesapeake so I could really use some help from those of you who have been sailing the bay for a while.
I did contact Pleasure Cove Marina in Pasadena and they are checking to see if they will have room.
I’d like to check out some other options as well.
Thanks,
Spencer
Marc Gershel
admiral
admiral

Re: Chesapeake Marina Haul Out/Store - PDQ 36

Post by Marc Gershel »

Hi Spencer, I hauled out for several years at the Charlestown marina, across from Northeast, MD, on the Northeast River.
Another place to try would be Markleys Marina on the Middle River. Both of these places could haul you.
Before you commit to a place, go and measure the travelift, and slipway yourself. They never seem to get it right.
Marc
holomoku
skipper
skipper

Post by holomoku »

Those would be good options for me based on location.
I will check them out.
Thanks for helping narrow my search Marc...it is a big time saver.

Spencer
holomoku
skipper
skipper

Post by holomoku »

Marc Gershel wrote:Before you commit to a place, go and measure the travelift, and slipway yourself. They never seem to get it right.
Marc