The Extra "Red Wire" when changing engines

Post here for issues with outboard engines (i.e Yamaha 9.9) on PDQ yachts
Main Event II
deckhand
deckhand
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:10 am

The Extra "Red Wire" when changing engines

Postby Main Event II » Thu Jun 27, 2013 8:10 pm

I'm in the process of swapping out old 2004 T9.9EXRD with new 2012 T9.9EXHA, which I purchased from Andy Munao at Shipyard Marina and I've run into my first issue. The new engines came with the multi-pin connection and the power connections. The old engine has these PLUS an additional red wire that runs from a rectifier/regulator (?) to a circuit breaker on the outer fire wall. I'm having a dialog with Andy to determine what this wire is for and how to affect a proper connection on the new engine. I've attached pictures that I used to show Andy but he says it is not a Yamaha wire and that the boat builder must have installed it. He doesn't know what it is for. Meanwhile, I'm sitting here with two new engines that I can't use until I can resolve this issue. Any insight and advice would be most welcome. Thanks. Jim Beahon - Main Event II (Hull #98)
Attachments
Yamaha T9.9EXRD 005(email).jpg
Yamaha T9.9EXRD 005(email).jpg (89.63 KiB) Viewed 2651 times
Yamaha T9.9EXRD 002(email).jpg
Yamaha T9.9EXRD 002(email).jpg (113.37 KiB) Viewed 2653 times
Yamaha T9.9EXRD 001(email).jpg
Yamaha T9.9EXRD 001(email).jpg (112.42 KiB) Viewed 2652 times

danhaun
1st mate
1st mate
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 6:58 am
Location: (32011)

Re: The Extra "Red Wire" when changing engines

Postby danhaun » Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:32 am

Hi Jim:

We have hull #11 with the new engines and we do not have any such wire or apparatus on the fire wall.

...sorry I can't help you further. Could it be some sort of add-on tachometer interface? We do not have tachometers.

Dan Haun
TomKat

amytom
admiral
admiral
Posts: 680
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 10:57 am
Location: Orlando, FL S/V DogHouse PDQ32009

Re: The Extra "Red Wire" when changing engines

Postby amytom » Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:11 pm

Just remove and forget the wire. It was a duplicate charge path for separate bank. The new engines will charge just fine through the main battery cables.

User avatar
thinwater
admiral
admiral
Posts: 1022
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: The Extra "Red Wire" when changing engines

Postby thinwater » Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:39 pm

Exactly. Remove the wire. I just did the same swap and they charge fine without the wire, just like the factory says.

I also found that the tilt lock angles were different and I had to trim the battery deck a bit. Easy.
http://sail-delmarva.blogspot.com/2013/ ... s-out.html
Writing full time since 2014.

http://sail-delmarva.blogspot.com/2017/ ... store.html
"Keeping a Cruising Boat for Peanuts"
"Singlehanded Sailing for the Coastal Sailor"
"Faster Cruising for the Coastal Sailor"


Return to “Outboard Engines”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests