Quick Windlass

Discussions regarding electronics, gear and other equipment of maintenance issues that ARE NOT SPECIFIC to a certain PDQ model yacht
Post Reply
Don Burton
deckhand
deckhand
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:07 pm

Quick Windlass

Post by Don Burton » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:57 pm

Snowcat was coming down the Tentom Waterway and at one lock we dropped our anchor to wait . It worked great. Next day we went to anchor and NOTHING. The windlass wouldn't make a sound up or down. Anybody have this problem? I checked the ten amp fuse in the locker and it was fine. Are there any other fuses in the system? HELP! Don Burton

User avatar
eepstein
admiral
admiral
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:29 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD (PDQ36 Hull 49)
Contact:

Re: Quick Windlass

Post by eepstein » Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:12 pm

10 amp? You probably have the wrong fuse. It is many times a separate circuit breaker, rarely a fuse. And it'll be a lot more than 10 amps...
Eric & Bonnie Epstein
s/v Desert Star, PDQ36, Hull 49
Annapolis, MD

User avatar
thinwater
admiral
admiral
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: Quick Windlass

Post by thinwater » Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:27 pm

The 10 amp fuse is only for the control wires. There should be a 50 amp breaker somewhere; ours is mounted on the aft edge of the port salon seat, but other locations were used also. Sometimes near the helm.
Writing full time since 2014.
"Rigging Modern Anchors,"Seaworthy Press, https://www.amazon.com/Rigging-Modern-A ... 1948494078
Book Store. http://sail-delmarva.blogspot.com/2017/ ... store.html

Post Reply