Quick Windlass

Discussions regarding electronics, gear and other equipment of maintenance issues that ARE NOT SPECIFIC to a certain PDQ model yacht
Don Burton
deckhand
deckhand
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:07 pm

Quick Windlass

Postby Don Burton » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:57 pm

Snowcat was coming down the Tentom Waterway and at one lock we dropped our anchor to wait . It worked great. Next day we went to anchor and NOTHING. The windlass wouldn't make a sound up or down. Anybody have this problem? I checked the ten amp fuse in the locker and it was fine. Are there any other fuses in the system? HELP! Don Burton

User avatar
eepstein
admiral
admiral
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:29 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD (PDQ36 Hull 49)
Contact:

Re: Quick Windlass

Postby eepstein » Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:12 pm

10 amp? You probably have the wrong fuse. It is many times a separate circuit breaker, rarely a fuse. And it'll be a lot more than 10 amps...
Eric & Bonnie Epstein
s/v Desert Star, PDQ36, Hull 49
Annapolis, MD

User avatar
thinwater
admiral
admiral
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: Quick Windlass

Postby thinwater » Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:27 pm

The 10 amp fuse is only for the control wires. There should be a 50 amp breaker somewhere; ours is mounted on the aft edge of the port salon seat, but other locations were used also. Sometimes near the helm.
Writing full time since 2014.

http://sail-delmarva.blogspot.com/2017/ ... store.html
"Keeping a Cruising Boat for Peanuts"
"Singlehanded Sailing for the Coastal Sailor"
"Faster Cruising for the Coastal Sailor"


Return to “Gear / Equipment / Maintenance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest